Clothes Make A Team!

I know that I am actually painting a target on my back by writing this article. This article will probably hit a raw nerve with many fans of Sports Leagues but i find it really amusing and so, to hell with them!

I believe I am a very calm person and I respect the fundamental rights of people. So, naturally I want people to reciprocate the gesture and it really pisses me off when they don’t do that, especially my right to silence. The other day, a commotion in the TV room snatched my right to silence and disturbed my sweet slumber. So I followed my instincts to choke the life out of the murderers of my slumber.  But all instincts vanished and I was actually quite amused when I found out what the entire ruckus was about. The English Premier League was on and apparently the supporters of one club didn’t actually get along with the supporters of the other club. It was a bit of a bit of a disappointment that I lost my sleep to this childish “My Club is better than your” routine nevertheless, I was amused.

Before telling you the reason why I was amused, I will sum up the concept of supporting a team. Though I am not much of a sports freak, I respect it when someone supports a team that represents a country (may not be same as that of the supporter). It’s deep stuff with all the national sentiments, respect for the country and the players. So, a battle for superiority concerning the teams that represent a country is understandable.

Then there are these individual sports like Tennis, where people are inspired by players irrespective of their nationality. Now this stuff is even deeper because it is borne out of nothing but pure respect for the player’s skill and talent. A fight over the superiority of individual players is more than understandable.

Lastly, there is this twisted concept of supporting sports league teams. And it’s not just the football leagues. I am talking about the cricket leagues, basketball leagues, even a kabaddi league (if it ever comes into existence).  So I will come to the amusing part now. The players don’t give a shit about the teams as they follow the trail of money. And I did a little digging around. People stick with the team even if a good player changes the team. There is no sentiment involved because the team is generally owned by an Arab Sheikh who cruises around in his gold car or a Billionaire who probably shits $100 bills.

Let’s build the equation of supporting a club or a league team. Players, their skill and talent, sentiments, etc. are thrown right out of the equation. So let me tell you what’s left to root for in a league team…..The clothes, shin guards, or probably the socks. As such, when I see people fighting over clubs, it doesn’t look much different from two annoying teens high on hormones fighting over dresses. The crux of it is that even a fight over Pokémons is more respectable than a fight over clubs!!

5 thoughts on “Clothes Make A Team!

  1. Sometimes, a club is centred around a philosophy, an ideal- an ideal that can inspire and bring out a heady mix of feelings. This is why most real fans support clubs. The foundation the club is built on remains intact.Even when their best players leave.
    Unlike national teams, where the team is constrained by the number of truly world class players, clubs try to achieve purity and perfection of the sport- improving the standards and quality of the matches played and motivating aspiring players to up their game.
    Every club has a hero, a fan favourite. Some teams are built to bring out the best in a single player, such is the adulation some players receive. And a lot of them repay that with long term commitment to the club. They go on to become legends, their names sung from the stands long after they retire. Then there are players who might not be endowed with the most dazzling skills, but still give their all for the cause- fans fondly remember them too. And when a team has the perfect mix of talented players who care, they go down in history.

    That’s what clubs stand for- ideology, perfection, class, prestige, pride and legacy.

    P.S- I’m not talking about IPL here, that’s not sport it’s mere entertainment 😀

    “football is not a matter of life and death. It is even more serious”
    -Bill Shankly

    1. The only ideology all these clubs are centered around is money. I’m not an EPL follower but I know one thing that there is a huge gap between The Four Clubs and the rest of the EPL clubs. “The Big Four” as they are called have so much money that they basically own the EPL. If your “Ideology” existed don’t you think all the clubs would have a fair chance. These four clubs greedily eye the talents in the small clubs and use the buttload of money they got to buy the commitment of these players by making offers which they cannot refuse. I don’t see any purity here….I just see a trail of money. There is no comparison of these club teams with the national teams. In a national team, the players play for the nation’s pride, prestige and legacy…..not for money!

      I’m no IPL fan but tell me how is EPL different from IPL. Other than the cheerleaders, it’s one and the same. You buy players, make them compete and then buy again if you lose! Same is the case with Major Baseball leagues.

      Yes, there is passion in the game. How can someone not be romantic about the game! But this passion is severely dampened when players choose money over commitment to the team. Constrained as they may be, that can never be the case with national teams. Because players in a national team aren’t there just because their owner has a shitload of money to afford them. They are there because they want to represent their country. Money may be a strong motivator but it will always be several places behind the urge or the will to uphold the nation’s pride!!

  2. Hail Satyesh!!!!
    As i completelely agree to your viewpoint….

    But, as it is said:

    Life was a damned muddle – a football game with everyone offside and everyone claiming the referee would have been on his side. ~F.Scott Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply

